ARTS 144 Section B Assignments

Arts 144 Section B Syllabus

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Presentation: Norman Terms

Design Research Assignment

Thursday , August 31, 2017

Presentation: We Are Makers Ted Talk

Reverse Engineering in-class assignment Part I

Tuesday , September 5, 2017

Reverse Engineering Part II and Reading Assignment

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Toy Mashup Assignment Presentation

Toy Mashup Assignment – updated Sept 21

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Soldering Instruction

Working with restraints: Richard Turere Ted Talk

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Toy Mashup and artist statement due for crit on Tuesday, September 26

Thursday, September 21

Toy Mashup Assignment – updated Sept 21

Thursday, September 28

(1) Identify three scenes from the film Manufactured Landscapes that you found thought provoking and be prepared to discuss in class on Tuesday.
(2) Read the chapter Steel in The Toaster Project.

Thursday October 5

Massimo Banzi with FabAcademy
Assignment:
(1) Explore the Arduino blog 

(2) Read The Toaster Project chapters Mica and Plastic for Tuesday, October 10.

Tuesday, October 10

Circuit 1 Lab
Circuit 2 Lab

Information: Pull up and pull down resistors

Tutorial: Analog and Digital

Four Band Resistor Color Calculator

Thursday, October 12

Circuit 3 Lab

Circuit 4 Lab

Read chapters Copper and Nickel in The Toaster Project

Tuesday, October 17

Circuit 5 Code and Projects

Circuit 5 Lab

 

Tuesday, October 31

Laser Cutting and Engraving Startup Guide

Pictures of Flex Box

Flex Box example

A working Laser Cutter and Engraver

Artist examples

 

Final Project

Project description and expectations

Budget Sheet